The National Biochar Awards celebrates and recognises the achievements, innovation, entrepreneurship and best practice in the ANZ Biochar Industry. Creating a sense of community amongst those in the industry, we aim to foster an environment that will celebrate award recipients and see collaboration between those in the greater biochar community.

ANZBIG congratulates the first recipients of the National Biochar Awards and inductees into the ANZBIG’s Hall of  Fame

2024 Award Winners

ANZBIG Biochar User Award

Vital Chemical & B & K Revegetation and Landscaping


ANZBIG Biochar Producer Award

Energy Farmers Australia

ANZBIG Exporter

Carbon Powered Mineral Technology & Product

ANZBIG Biochar Researcher Award

Sara Tahery (UNSW) & Zakaria Solaiman (UWA)

ANZBIG Biochar Student Prize

Kate Kingston

ANZBIG Volunteer

Hilary Furlong

ANZBIG Hall of Fame Inductees

James Joyce

Adrian Morphett – Earth Systems

Kathy Dawson

Dr Paul Taylor

Ian Stanley & Peter Burgess – Rainbow Bee Eater

About our 2024 awards ceremony

The second National Biochar Awards Ceremony took place with much fanfare, celebrating the pioneers and innovators who are driving sustainable agriculture and the built environment forward through the use of biochar. Held in Perth, the event brought together industry leaders, researchers, policymakers, and environmental advocates to recognise outstanding achievements in biochar innovation and implementation.